Scientific background to Axomera therapy (Percutaneous Bioelectric Current Stimulation)

Chapter

axomera brief description

The multi-patented Axomera therapy (percutaneous bioelectric current stimulation) is a new, transformational, microprocessor-controlled stimulation method that is increasingly used by orthopedists, sports physicians and pain therapists for the conservative treatment of acute and chronic disorders of the tendons, ligaments and muscles. It is based on the modulation of static, tissue-specific electric fields.

axomera is different from all other medical stimulation methods known to us

Until now, almost all medical electrical stimulation methods have used the highest possible currents and/or frequencies to attenuate action potentials of peripheral nociceptors and thus reduce the central perception of pain.

Such methods include transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS), percutaneous stimulation (e.g., electroacupuncture) and surgically implanted devices such as peripheral nerve stimulators (PNS), spinal cord stimulators (SCS) and dorsal root ganglion (DRG) stimulators. All these electrical stimulation devices work in a similar way and use the same electrophysiological principle. Dynamic, pulsed bipolar electrical stimuli (1-70 V, 1-90 mA, 1-1200 Hz, pulse width of 0.2-250 ms) are used to overstimulate neurons to the point that they no longer generate action potentials, thereby interrupting afferent conduction in motor or neurological pain conditions. These electrical devices are widely used and clinically established, even though their clinical efficacy has not been clearly proven. The treatment is aimed only at pain suppression, and there is no clinical claim or evidence that these methods improve recovery or healing. Another class of electrical stimulation uses thermal and similar methods. These include electrochemical ablation (percutaneous thermocoagulation or electrolysis) to reduce anatomical pressure on a nerve, interrupt nociception and promote consecutive angiogenesis and tissue repair.

axomera and the axolotl

Electrophysiological phenomena, however, are not limited to these dynamic action potentials. The axolotl, for example, which is known for its ability to regrow injured limbs and organs, and even parts of the heart and brain, generates static electrical fields (EF) with a defined orientation and intensity during the regeneration phase.

Charged ions and proteins/peptides are found both in the extracellular matrix and intracellularly. Ion channels and ion transporters in the cell membrane regulate the flow of these charged molecules. In this way each tissue generates electric ion currents and electric fields (EFs) that have a defined orientation and intensity. These EFs in turn interact with charged ions and peptides through electrostatic forces, electrophoresis and electroosmosis. For example, inflammation of muscle tissue, which manifests as painful trigger points, is associated with locally increased concentrations of proinflammatory cytokines, H+ ions, and consequent acidosis, which in turn leads to increased electrical conductivity of the inflamed tissue.
Unterschiedliche Stromkurven während der Regenerationsphase beim Axolotl und beim Säugetier (Menschen).
Different current curves during the regeneration phase
in the axolotl and in mammals (humans).

electric fields on epithelial layers control wound healing

Electrical fields induced by cells and tissues include, for example, the transepithelial potential difference (TEP). In epithelial tissues, palisaded epithelial cells often generate a net influx of Na+ ions towards the parenchyma. In terms of their electrical properties, epithelial layers can be compared to multiple micro-batteries connected in parallel. Epithelial cells are connected to each other by so-called tight junctions, which have an electrically insulating effect. This maintains a potential difference between the inner parenchyma and the outer structures.

If injury to epithelial tissues destroys these tight junctions and also produces local edema, there is a local breakdown of the electrical resistance in the area of the wound and thus a short circuit of the TEP. Depending on the size and location of the wound, as well as the species and type of tissue injured, electric fields in the order of 140 mV/ mm are generated. A large number of new scientific studies have investigated the significance of these EFs for the control of cells. These biological EFs stimulate the migration of inflammatory cells, epithelial cells and fibroblasts. Depending on the orientation and intensity of the EF, fibroblasts migrate toward or away from the wound. This leads to opening or closing of the wound. Small EFs also stimulate and control the growth of spinal neurons, astrocytes, mesenchymal stem cells, monocytes and macrophages.

use of static electric fields in medicine

New clinical applications in the field of in vitro tissue engineering and to promote wound healing have been inspired by this recently acquired electrophysiological knowledge.

axomera - a transformational therapy method

With Axomera, this knowledge, which has only been known for a few years, is now being used for the first time for the treatment of neurological pain disorders and diseases of the musculoskeletal system. Comparable to the electrical fields measured during the regeneration phase in the axolotl (and in contrast to the TENS-like procedures described above), in Axomera therapy an undulating, unipolar current is generated by a microprocessor, which is placed precisely in the diseased or injured tissue with the help of fine electrical probes. The physiological electrical field of the tissue is imitated and increased in order to modulate local tissue inflammation and initiate regeneration of muscles, ligaments, tendons and nerves.

Das Axomera Feld stimuliert die Zellwanderung und fördert hierdurch die Heilung
The Axomera field stimulates cell migration and thereby promotes healing

Case study of the regeneration of injured thigh muscle

A 19-year-old professional soccer player suffered a stabbing pain in his right thigh during the second half of the game. The physician on the sidelines diagnosed a torn muscle, which was confirmed by MRI, and the prognosis was that the player would be out of play for at least three months due to the size of the injury. The player received five Axomera sessions over the next 10 days. After the second treatment, the pain subsided, and after the fourth treatment he was able to bear weight without pain.

Muskelfaserriss, MRI am Tag des Traumas
Muscle fibre tear, MRI on the day of the trauma
Training resumed after 11 days instead of 3 months
After the fifth treatment, the player wanted to return to sports-specific training. Due to the unexpectedly fast pain reduction, the attending physician ordered another MRI to be on the safe side, which clearly showed regeneration of the torn muscle. Thereupon the patient resumed training. Only three weeks after the trauma, he was able to play a complete 90-minute match with no discomfort.

Muskelfaserriss, MRI 11 Tage nach dem Trauma
Muscle fibre tear, MRI 11 days after trauma

literature

  1. Nnoaham KE, Kumbang J. Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) for chronic pain. Cochrane Database Syst Rev. 2008;(3):CD003222.
  2. Shamji MF, De Vos C, Sharan A. The Advancing Role of Neuromodulation for the Management of Chronic Treatment-Refractory Pain. Neurosurgery. 2017;80(3):S108-S113. doi:10.1093/neuros/nyw047.
  3. Petersen EA, Slavin K V. Peripheral nerve/field stimulation for chronic pain. Neurosurg Clin N Am. 2014;25(4):789-797. doi:10.1016/j.nec.2014.07.003.
  4. Zeng Z, Yan M, Dai Y, Qiu W, Deng S, Gu X. Percutaneous bipolar radiofrequency thermocoagulation for the treatment of lumbar disc herniation. J Clin Neurosci. 2016;30:39-43. doi:10.1016/j.jocn.2015.10.050.
  5. García Naranjo J, Barroso Rosa S, Loro Ferrer JF, Limiñana Cañal JM, Suarez Hernández E. A novel approach in the treatment of acute whiplash syndrome: Ultrasound-guided needle percutaneous electrolysis. A randomized controlled trial. Orthop Traumatol Surg Res. 2017;103(8):1229-1234. doi:10.1016/j.otsr.2017.09.012.
  6. McCaig CD, Song B, Rajnicek AM. Electrical dimensions in cell science. J Cell Sci. 2009;122(23):4267-4276. doi:10.1242/jcs.023564
  7. Shah JP, Danoff J V, Desai MJ, et al. Biochemicals associated with pain and inflammation are elevated in sites near to and remote from active myofascial trigger points. Arch Phys Med Rehabil. 2008;89(1):16-23.
  8. Mccaig CD, Rajnicek AM, Song B, Zhao M. Controlling cell behavior electrically: current views and future potential. Physiol Rev. 2005;85(3):943-978.
  9. Electrical Stimulation Promotes Wound Healing by Enhancing Dermal Fibroblast Activity and Promoting Myofibroblast Transdifferentiation.
  10. Borgens RB, Vanable JW, Jaffe LF. Bioelectricity and regeneration. I. Initiation of frog limb regeneration by minute currents. J Exp Zool. 1977;200(3):403-416. doi:10.1002/jez.1402000310.
  11. Leppik LP, Froemel D, Slavici A, et al. Effects of electrical stimulation on rat limb regeneration, a new look at an old model. Sci Rep. 2015;5:18353. doi:10.1038/srep18353.
  12. Baer ML, Colello RJ. Endogenous bioelectric fields: A putative regulator of wound repair and regeneration in the central nervous system. Neural Regen Res. 2016;11(6):861-864. doi:10.4103/1673-5374.184446.
  13. Zhao M, Song B, Pu J, et al. Electrical signals control wound healing through phosphatidylinositol-3-OH kinase-gamma and PTEN. Nature. 2006;442(7101):457-460.
  14. Borgens RB, Jaffe LF, Cohen MJ. Large and persistent electrical currents enter the transected lamprey spinal cord. Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 1980;77(2):1209-1213. doi:10.1073/pnas.77.2.1209.
  15. Baer ML, Henderson SC, Colello RJ. Elucidating the Role of Injury-Induced Electric Fields (EFs) in Regulating the Astrocytic Response to Injury in the Mammalian Central Nervous System. Hu W, ed. PLoS One. 2015;10(11):e0142740. doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0142740.
  16. Zhao Z, Watt C, Karystinou A, et al. Directed migration of human bone marrow mesenchymal stem cells in a physiological direct current electric field. Eur Cell Mater. 2011;22:344-358.
  17. Hoare JI, Rajnicek AM, Mccaig CD, Barker RN, Wilson HM. Electric fields are novel determinants of human macrophage functions. 2016;99(June):1-11. doi:10.1189/jlb.3A0815-390R.
  18. Electric Fields Stimulate Directional Migration of Synovial Mesenchymal Stem Cells Yayman G, MolsbergerA, Rajnicek AM, McCaig C
© 2020 axomera – inspiring medicine. all rights reserved.
Axomera is a novel treatment method developed on the basis of established methods. Although studies have been carried out on Axomera, like the majority of established medical treatments, it has not yet been fully validated according to the principles of evidence-based medicine. In particular, no randomized controlled trials or comprehensive meta-analyses have yet been carried out. The success of Axomera therapy cannot be guaranteed in every case. However, there are a large number of patient reports, case studies and testimonials on conditions that have been successfully treated with Axomera therapy. They may be found on this website and also on www.neueschmerztherapie.de.

en_GBEnglish (UK)

Wissenschaftlicher Hintergrund zur Axomera Therapie (Percutaneous Bioelectric Current Stimulation)

Kapitel

Axomera Kurzbeschreibung

Die mehrfach patentierte Axomera Therapie (Percutaneous Bioelectric Current Stimulation) ist ein neues, transformatorisches, microprozessor gesteuertes Stimulationsverfahren, welches zunehmende von Orthopäden, Sportmedizinern und Schmerztherapeuten zur konservativen Behandlung von akuten und chronischen Erkrankungen der Sehnen, Bänder und Muskeln eingesetzt wird. Es basiert auf der Modulation statischer gewebespezifischer elektrischer Felder.

Axomera ist anders als alle anderen uns bekannten medizinischen Stimulationsverfahren

Bisher setzen nahezu alle medizinischen elektrischen Stimulationsverfahren möglichst hohe Ströme und/oder Frequenzen ein, um die Aktivität der Aktionspotenziale peripherer Nozizeptoren und damit die zentrale Schmerzwahrnehmung zu dämpfen

Hierzu gehört die transkutane elektrische Nervenstimulation (TENS), die perkutane Stimulation (z.B. Elektroakupunktur) oder die chirurgisch Implantation von Geräten, wie sie als periphere Nervenstimulatoren (PNS), Rückenmarkstimulatoren (SCS) oder dorsale Wurzelganglion (DRG) Stimulatoren eingesetzt werden. Alle diese elektrischen Stimulationsgeräte arbeiten ähnlich und bedienen sich des gleichen elektrophysiologischen Prinzips. Dynamische, gepulste bipolare elektrische Reize (1-70 V, 1-90 mA,  1-1200 Hz, Impulsbreite von 0,2-250 ms) werden eingesetzt, um die Nervenzellen so zu übersteuern, dass sie keine weiteren Aktionspotenziale mehr generieren und damit die afferente Reizleitung bei motorischen oder neurologischen Schmerzzuständen unterbrochen wird. Diese elektrischen Geräte sind weit verbreitet und klinisch etabliert, auch wenn ihre klinische Wirksamkeit nicht eindeutig nachgewiesen ist, die Behandlung nur auf die Schmerzunterdrückung abzielt, und es keinen klinischen Anspruch oder Beweis dafür gibt, dass diese TENS oder TENS-ähnlichen Verfahren die Regeneration oder Heilung verbessern. Eine weitere Klasse von Elektrostimulationsgeräten zielt auf eine thermische oder nicht-thermische Therapie ab. Hier ist zu nennen die elektrochemische Ablation (perkutane Thermokoagulation oder Elektrolyse), um den anatomischen Druck auf einen Nerv zu reduzieren, die Nozizeption zu unterbrechen oder die konsekutive Angiogenese und Gewebereparatur zu fördern.

Axomera und der Axolotl

Elektrophysiologische Phänomene sind jedoch nicht auf diese dynamischen Aktionspotenziale beschränkt. Der Axolotl zum Beispiel, der bekanntlich in der Lage ist, verletzte Gliedmaßen und Organe, selbst Teile des Herzens und Gehirns, vollständig wiederherzustellen, erzeugt während der Regenerationshase statische elektrische Felder (EF) mit einer definierten Ausrichtung und Intensität.

Sowohl in der extrazellulären Matrix wie auch intrazellulär finden sich geladene Ionen und Proteine / Peptide. Ionenkanäle und Ionentransporter in der Zellmembran regulieren den Fluss dieser geladenen Moleküle. Jedes Gewebe erzeugt somit elektrische Ionenströme und elektrische Felder (EFs), die eine definierte Ausrichtung und Intensität aufweisen. Diese EFs interagieren wiederum mit geladenen Ionen und Peptiden durch elektrostatische Kräfte, Elektrophorese und Elektroosmose. Zum Beispiel gehen Entzündungen des Muskelgewebes, wie sie bei schmerzhaften Triggerpunkten zu beobachten sind, mit einer lokal erhöhten Konzentration von proinflammatorischen Zytokinen, H+-Ionen, und einer daraus folgenden Azidose einher, die wiederum zu einer erhöhten elektrischen Leitfähigkeit des entzündeten Gewebes führt.
Unterschiedliche Stromkurven während der Regenerationsphase beim Axolotl und beim Säugetier (Menschen).
Unterschiedliche Stromkurven während der Regenerationsphase
beim Axolotl und beim Säugetier (Menschen).

Elektrische Felder an Epithelschichten steuern die Wundheilung

Zu den von Zellen und Geweben induzierten elektrischen Feldern gehört zum Beispiel die transepitheliale Potenzialdifferenz (TEP). In Epithelgeweben generieren palisadenartig angeordneten Epithelzellen häufig einen Nettozufluss von Na+-Ionen in Richtung des Parenchyms. Epithelschichten sind hinsichtlich ihrer elektrischen Eigenschaften mit multiplen parallelgeschalteten Mikrobatterien vergleichbar. Untereinander sind Epithelzellen durch so genannte „tight junctions“, die eine elektrisch isolierende Wirkung haben, verbunden. Hierdurch wird eine Potentialdifferenz zwischen dem inneren Parenchym und den äußeren Strukturen aufrecht erhalten.

Wenn Epithelwunden diese „tight junctions“ zerstören und zusätzlich noch ein lokales Ödem erzeugen, kommt es im Bereich der Wunde zu einem lokalen Zusammenbruch des elektrischen Widerstandes und damit zu einem Kurzschluss des TEP. Abhängig von der Größe und der Lokalisation der Wunde sowie auch der Species und der Art des verletzten Gewebes, werden hierdurch elektrische Felder erzeugt, die in der Größenordnung von 140 mV/ mm liegen. Eine Vielzahl neuer grundlagenwissenschaftlicher Arbeiten haben die Bedeutung dieser EF für Steuerung von Zellen untersucht. So stimulieren diese biologischen EF die Migration von Entzündungszellen, Epithelzellen und Fibroblasten. Abhängig von der Ausrichtung und Intensität der EF wandern Fibroblasten in Richtung der Wunde oder von ihr weg.  Dies führt zu einem Öffnen oder Schließen der Wunde. Kleine EF stimulieren und steuern auch das Wachstum von Spinalneuronen, Astrozyten, mesenchymalen Stammzellen, Monozyten und Makrophagen.

Einsatz statischer elektrischer Felder in der Medizin

Neue klinische Anwendungen im Bereich des in vitro tissue engineering und zur Förderung der Wundheilung wurden durch dieses erst kürzlich erworbene elektrophysiologische Wissen inspiriert.

Axomera – ein transformatorisches Therapieverfahren

Mit der Axomera Therapie wird nun erstmals dieses erst seit wenigen Jahren bekannte Wissen für die Behandlung von neurologischen Schmerzerkrankungen und Erkrankungen des Bewegungsapparates eingesetzt. Vergleichbar den elektrischen Feldern, die während der Regenerationsphase beim Axolotl gemessen werden (und im Gegensatz zu den oben beschriebenen TENS ähnlichen Verfahren) wird bei der Axomera Therapie durch einen Microprozessor ein undulierender, unipolarer, Strom erzeugt, der mit Hilfe von feinen elektrischen Sonden punktgenau in das erkrankte Gewebe platziert wird. Das physiologische elektrische Feld des Gewebes wird imitiert und erhöht, um so die lokale Gewebeentzündung zu modulieren und die Regeneration von Muskeln, Bändern, Sehnen und Nerven zu initiieren.

Das Axomera Feld stimuliert die Zellwanderung und fördert hierdurch die Heilung
Das Axomera Feld stimuliert die Zellwanderung und  fördert hierdurch die Heilung

Fallbeispiel zur Regeneration eines verletzen Oberschenkelmuskels

Ein 19jähriger professioneller Fußballer erlitt in der zweiten Hälfte des Spiels einen stechenden Schmerz im rechten Oberschenkel. Der Arzt am Spielfeldrand diagnostizierte einen Muskelfaserriss, der sich im Kernspin bestätigte, und er prognostizierte auf Grund der Größe der Verletzung eine Spielausfallzeit von mindestens drei Monaten. Der Spieler erhielt in den folgenden 10 Tagen fünf Axomera Therapien. Nach der zweiten Behandlung ließen die Beschwerden nach, nach der 4. Behandlung konnte er schmerzfrei belasten.

Muskelfaserriss, MRI am Tag des Traumas
Muskelfaserriss, MRI am Tag des Traumas
Wiederaufnahme des Trainings nach 11 Tagen statt nach 3 Monaten
Nach der fünften Behandlung wollte der Spieler zurück ins sportarztspezifische Training. Der behandelnde Arzt veranlasste auf Grund der unerwartet schnellen Schmerzreduktion sicherheitshalber ein erneutes Kernspin, welches ein deutliche Regeneration des angerissenen Muskels zeigte. Daraufhin nahm der Patient das Training wieder auf. Bereits drei Wochen nach dem Trauma konnte er im Sinne eines „full return to sports” ein komplettes 90 minütiges Fußballspiel beschwerdefrei absolvieren.

Muskelfaserriss, MRI 11 Tage nach dem Trauma
Muskelfaserriss, MRI 11 Tage nach dem Trauma

Literatur

  1. Nnoaham KE, Kumbang J. Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) for chronic pain. Cochrane Database Syst Rev. 2008;(3):CD003222.
  2. Shamji MF, De Vos C, Sharan A. The Advancing Role of Neuromodulation for the Management of Chronic Treatment-Refractory Pain. Neurosurgery. 2017;80(3):S108-S113. doi:10.1093/neuros/nyw047.
  3. Petersen EA, Slavin K V. Peripheral nerve/field stimulation for chronic pain. Neurosurg Clin N Am. 2014;25(4):789-797. doi:10.1016/j.nec.2014.07.003.
  4. Zeng Z, Yan M, Dai Y, Qiu W, Deng S, Gu X. Percutaneous bipolar radiofrequency thermocoagulation for the treatment of lumbar disc herniation. J Clin Neurosci. 2016;30:39-43. doi:10.1016/j.jocn.2015.10.050.
  5. García Naranjo J, Barroso Rosa S, Loro Ferrer JF, Limiñana Cañal JM, Suarez Hernández E. A novel approach in the treatment of acute whiplash syndrome: Ultrasound-guided needle percutaneous electrolysis. A randomized controlled trial. Orthop Traumatol Surg Res. 2017;103(8):1229-1234. doi:10.1016/j.otsr.2017.09.012.
  6. McCaig CD, Song B, Rajnicek AM. Electrical dimensions in cell science. J Cell Sci. 2009;122(23):4267-4276. doi:10.1242/jcs.023564
  7. Shah JP, Danoff J V, Desai MJ, et al. Biochemicals associated with pain and inflammation are elevated in sites near to and remote from active myofascial trigger points. Arch Phys Med Rehabil. 2008;89(1):16-23.
  8. Mccaig CD, Rajnicek AM, Song B, Zhao M. Controlling cell behavior electrically: current views and future potential. Physiol Rev. 2005;85(3):943-978.
  9. Electrical Stimulation Promotes Wound Healing by Enhancing Dermal Fibroblast Activity and Promoting Myofibroblast Transdifferentiation.
  10. Borgens RB, Vanable JW, Jaffe LF. Bioelectricity and regeneration. I. Initiation of frog limb regeneration by minute currents. J Exp Zool. 1977;200(3):403-416. doi:10.1002/jez.1402000310.
  11. Leppik LP, Froemel D, Slavici A, et al. Effects of electrical stimulation on rat limb regeneration, a new look at an old model. Sci Rep. 2015;5:18353. doi:10.1038/srep18353.
  12. Baer ML, Colello RJ. Endogenous bioelectric fields: A putative regulator of wound repair and regeneration in the central nervous system. Neural Regen Res. 2016;11(6):861-864. doi:10.4103/1673-5374.184446.
  13. Zhao M, Song B, Pu J, et al. Electrical signals control wound healing through phosphatidylinositol-3-OH kinase-gamma and PTEN. Nature. 2006;442(7101):457-460.
  14. Borgens RB, Jaffe LF, Cohen MJ. Large and persistent electrical currents enter the transected lamprey spinal cord. Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 1980;77(2):1209-1213. doi:10.1073/pnas.77.2.1209.
  15. Baer ML, Henderson SC, Colello RJ. Elucidating the Role of Injury-Induced Electric Fields (EFs) in Regulating the Astrocytic Response to Injury in the Mammalian Central Nervous System. Hu W, ed. PLoS One. 2015;10(11):e0142740. doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0142740.
  16. Zhao Z, Watt C, Karystinou A, et al. Directed migration of human bone marrow mesenchymal stem cells in a physiological direct current electric field. Eur Cell Mater. 2011;22:344-358.
  17. Hoare JI, Rajnicek AM, Mccaig CD, Barker RN, Wilson HM. Electric fields are novel determinants of human macrophage functions. 2016;99(June):1-11. doi:10.1189/jlb.3A0815-390R.
  18. Electric Fields Stimulate Directional Migration of Synovial Mesenchymal Stem Cells Yayman G, MolsbergerA, Rajnicek AM, McCaig C
© 2020 axomera – inspiring medicine. all rights reserved.
Axomera  ist eine neuartige Behandlungsmethode, die auf der Basis etablierter Methoden entwickelt wurde. Wie die Mehrzahl etablierter medizinischer Therapieverfahren, ist auch die Axomera Therapie trotz vorhandener Untersuchungen noch nicht nach den Grundsätzen der evidenzbasierten Medizin wissenschaftlich hinreichend abgesichert. Insbesondere existieren noch keine randomisierten, kontrollierten Studien oder übergreifende Metaanalysen. Ein Erfolg der Axomera-Therapie kann nicht in jedem Behandlungsfall gewährleistet werden. Allerdings existieren eine ganze Reihe von beeindruckenden Patientenberichten, Fallbeispielen und Erfahrungsberichten zu Erkrankungen, die mit der Axomera Therapie erfolgreich behandelt wurden – siehe diese Website und auch www.neueschmerztherapie.de.